Debate on Unsolved Problems #2 – Problem of Evil

If, God is truly Benevolent, then why does different forms of Evil – be it the Seven Sins or other forms of malevolent workings, such as tricksters etc. – are present throughout time, surely this proves that there are some incoherency within the belief of such Deity?

I am aware that it is possible from Paley’s perspective, that for now, we due to the constraints of our mortal knowledge are not able to perceive or to acknowledge the purpose, complexity and order of such power, but even so, this does defy the need of such negatives for if God is truly good, then it consequently follows that He could also create the most efficient world there is, one akin to the idea of Utopia?

Is it possible to defend the religious account of the classical theistic God whilst accepting the fact that evil does exist? If so, please enlighten me!

3 comments
  1. zood3 said:

    No.

  2. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

  3. Thank you very much Andrew! I really appreciate your kind words,

    and Stephen – at least make an effort of reinforcing my argument even if you do not disagree to my view!

Go for it! I know you want to.

